PhD Transfer

happyforever

Hi,

I am currently a 1st year PhD student. The advisor I wanted to work with just got his tenure denied. Assuming that I won't be able to work with him in the future, I want to considering applying to other PhD programs and just transfer the courses I've taken this year.

Have anyone been in similar situation before and please tell me how you handled this when you are re-applying to the schools you previously applied to. More specifically, should I explain the situation of my advisor in my personal statement? How should I describe it?

I have a feeling that, if I don't explain my situation, then they would hold it against me, because it's very odd that you want to apply to another PhD program once you are already in one.

I would appreciate any help! Thank you very much,

It sounds like you didn't take your prelims/quals yet and thus are not a PhD student. If your school awards you an MS once you pass the qual, I would transfer after the MS and not before that, since you'll still be shaping your interests. For now, I'd say you should just try working in different labs and see how it goes.

Good idea! One of my concerns right now is that if I try to catch the deadline of Dec 15 this year, then I don't have much time to work on my application materials, like PS and talking to profs to ask for recommendation letters. Also, I don't have much more to add to my PS either because I've just started my school year here after undergrad, and haven't even finished any courses yet.

So, one more question, is it common for people to re-apply to other schools once they got a masters from one school (where they intended to do a PhD)? Would my school give me a hard time regarding this? I currently have full funding for the PhD program at my current school.

So when I apply to another school, I basically need to go through the application procedure like everyone else, correct? There's no special procedure for "transfer", correct?

Thanks very much