Overcoming a... less than stellar undergrad resume

I graduated in 2010 with a BS in Mathematics from UNC - Chapel Hill. As an undergrad I lacked maturity, discpline and any sense of direction and my grades reflected that - I finished with a 3.02 overall GPA with a 2.85 in math courses. Since then I've been working to support my significant other and I as she completes her MFA. Since entering the real world I've been giving my future a good bit of thought and I've come to the conclusion that I'd really like to enter grad school in math. Between being financially responsible for someone else and having a year to realize how much I miss my math studies, I think I've developed the discipline and motivation that I lacked as an undergrad. The problem, of course, is convincing an admissions committee to let me prove it, which brings me to main purpose.

What would be the best way to go about proving myself to an admissions committee? I mentioned my GPA and aside from some minor undergrad research (I wasn't published) I have no oustanding achievements to point to. My GRE scores are good; I scored 800/780 quantitative/verbal earlier this year, and I've been reviewing for most of the summer for the math subject GRE in the fall. I know I'll need to apply to master's programs rather than PhDs, but do I have a realistic chance of getting into a master's program at a place like UNC-Greensborough, for example? Or should I not even bother applying until I've taken some courses outside of a degree program and done well in them?

I feel for you, man. I was in a similar boat (only 3.0 gpa when applying to grad programs), and I didn't get in to any schools the first year I applied. Your general GRE is awesome (mine was nearly the same), but I don't think that will be enough to pique the adcoms' interest for very long. Make sure you train for the math subject GRE and try to get at least in the 80th percentile. (If you can get past 90%, you'll look even more desirable.)