School or Subject? UK and US?

Folly

Hello everyone, I am an international student with a BA in English Literature in Asia. I have applied for MA/PhD in the UK and the US this year,

but my BA in an non-English speaking country doesn't help much. English lit is very competitive and I was rejected by all the universities

(about 10) I've applied for in the US. Fortunately (or not), I got an offer from the English department at UCL (University College London), but

I am still unsure if this is a good choice. My ultimate goal is to do a PhD in the US and if possible, with scholarship, right now I only

have an offer from UCL. I have several questions:

1. If my ultimate goal is to do a Ph.D in the US, does a degree from UCL help? (Or, if I want to go back to the US system, does an MA

in the UK system helps? )

UCL's English department seems to be prestigious and it is ranked top 1 (Cambridge 2, Oxford 3) by Guardian UK this year. I doubt the

credibility of these evaluations, but it indicates that UCL is no worse than Oxbridge.

2. I'm also thinking about applying for less competitive subjects in better universities, such as theology (no offense), but I am not sure it is worth it.

Some say that the general name/prestige of a university matters more than a good department in a less famous university,

but some say that the subject matters more than the prestige of a school. My professor said "if you plan on further study after the

MA the school doesn't matter as much as the subject, in my opinion." I assume that a "more" prestigious MA (say, in Oxbridge) will help me

more than an MA in UCL when I apply for a PhD in English lit in the US - but I am not sure.

Here is "Good University Guide" from Guardian: Subject ranking matters more than where you study

http://www.timesonli...icle7137237.ece