Does this look good for a template letter to send out to potential advisors

alkaline262

Looking for some constructive criticism about this letter, as you can see by my GRE score, English is not my strongest feature. I am not really even sure what the content of the letter should be, but I got a general idea from one grad school site. Hopefully indentation works.

Dr. A,

I am interested in entering the field of_____________, and I hope to find out if you have any room to accept graduate students into your lab. I looked into some of your work and found it to be very exciting; I especially took interest in the paper on_____________.(at this point I’ll take time to explain what was so interesting).

I am a good student with strong work ethic. I took the general GRE and scored a 460 on verbal and 710 on quantitative; I have not yet taken the biology subject GRE, but I will be taking it in October.

I currently hold a cumulative GPA of 3.797, and have taken many classes above and beyond the basic requirements for a biology undergraduate degree form (my college), including classes in math, physics, and chemistry. Furthermore, I have received over $10,000 in merit based science scholarships, over $8,000 of which came from the National Science Foundation’s STEM scholarship.

I have a great interest in research, and I have been involved in an ongoing project in circadian rhythm and metabolism. I have learned a bit about how a research project goes from an idea to reality, from the logistics of obtaining materials, to the care of a running experiment and taking data. I have also committed to assisting in a molecular biology research lab this coming fall to expand my research experience in preparation for graduate school.