Revised GRE - 2nd day

missdvo

Hi everyone,

I took the revised GRE on the 2nd day it was offered (Aug. 2) and unlike some other people who got Verbal for the "extra" section, I actually was given the Quantitative. That was actually Ok since the verbal seemed harder to me cause of so many tricky questions. The range of scores at the end for me was pretty low. I never do well on these types of questions and on one of the sections, I actually ran out of time (forgot if it was V or Q section) so had to guess on about 5 questions, which I'm sure totally helped to lower my scores.

I was just glad to get out of the testing center that I didn't write down my scores but was told from the proctors that I will receive my scores in 2-3 weeks.

Study charts and graphs if you're not good with those because I had a tons of those questions come up. I don't remember any Verbal "GRE words" that I studied from Princeton Review and Kaplan books coming up at all.

As for the writing, the issue topic was something like: government should not fund scientific research that do not have clear consequences, and the argument topic was something like: this one chemical that's also used as a food additive has been shown to lower headaches in this one town.

Take the Powerprep sample tests; they're almost exactly like what my test was like. Hope that's helpful to some of you & Good LUCK! Thank goodness my top choice university doesn't require GRE scores (they did away with them THIS YEAR!).

diana

How much did you study for the verbal part of the GRE? You said very few of the words you studied showed up, which makes me nervous. I didn't do as well as I wanted to on the verbal, so I have been trying to learn more words, and I am scared that learning all of these words are not going to help me bring my score up.