my chances of getting into a CS PhD/ MS(research)

mcool

first something about me..

i am currently a final year CS student finishing degree by September/Oct 2012. So i am targeting the fall 2013. I want to do a PhD but a research MS WITH FUNDING would be ok as well.

current GPA (non US) - 3.85 (outa 4.25 so after converting all A+'s which are 4.25 in to 4, I get my GPA as somewhere around 3.75)

ranked in the 94th percentile of the batch.

2 conference (international) and 1 journal (local) papers. (out of 3 , 2 are survey papers)

LORs would be unknown

What are my chances of getting in to a one of following UC schools if my GRE score is

1290 (790Q, 500V, 3.5AW) ?.

University list in decreasing precedence.

-CalTech

-UCLA

-UCSD

-USC

-UCI

-UCSB

-UCD

Thanks in advance!

I can only speak for PhD admissions.

Are the international conferences good? Local journals don't count, and survey papers don't count as research either. Since you didn't talk about your research experience, I am assuming you have none outside of this.

Nobody really cares about your GRE or your GPA unless they suck ass; you're fine.

What do your recommenders think about you? If all you did under them was take classes and write survey papers, they won't be too strong.

If I am right, then I'd say you won't get into Caltech, UCLA, UCSD, or USC, and have a fighting chance at the others. Why all California schools?

Good luck!

Edited by OH YEAH

Hi,

im not sure whether they are good or bad (3x% range acceptance rate). yes you right, only research experience would be my final year research project.

Of LORs, lets say 2 are average and one is good.

No special reasons of selecting UC schools other than my love for CA and its being a technical paradise which I guess has greater scope for opportunities.

have a fighting chance at the others.

oh, it makes me feel terrible!

So in your opinion what ranking range should I focus on in general ( if PhD) ?

Thanks!

Edited by mcool