kalai_nalla

Hi All,

I graduated in 2010 with GPA in CS courses around 3.8 and planning to apply for fall 2012. I have 1 and half years of Work experience in MNC as Web developer. I am looking forward to specialize in SE. What drove me to UIUC is the research on user interaction and animation which aligns with my career goal to specialize in web development or any application development for end users. I am interested in MCS program. I understand getting into UIUC is extremely competitve. Can someone please help me how I should prepare myself for applying to this program in UIUC ?

Thanks !

• 3 weeks later...

I think the MCS in CS is a useful program, but only if it corresponds with what you're looking for. You mentioned that you're compelled by "research on user interaction and animation." However, while UIUC's CS program is very good overall, HCI and animation are at the outer fringes of the department. Furthermore, if you care about research, it might be wise to target research-oriented masters or PhD programs instead of a professional masters.

It's worth noting that the MCS is the only UIUC CS grad program in which most students aren't funded. The overwhelming majority of UIUC CS MS and PhD students have RA/TA positions.

If you're not interested in research and just want to be a web developer, why bother with a masters? I guess you might get a nominally higher salary as a developer with a masters. If you're lucky, they'll you a "head code monkey" t-shirt, too.

Hi All,