Am I out of luck?

northstar22

Hi!

I'm new here, so I'll give you guys a little background on myself. I'm currently a 24-year-old first-year grad student pursuing an MPA and a regional planning certificate from a university in Minnesota.

Although my undergrad major was in a (somewhat) unrelated field, I've always had a strong interest in public policy, political science and rural / small town economic development.

I have always wanted to become a university professor, but I decided on an MPA over an MA in poli. sci. primarily to placate my parents, who don't see academia as a realistic goal and would rather me "get a normal job" (yes, big mistake, I know). Although I thought I could make a public sector / nonprofit career work, I have decided that I have ZERO desire to enter the 9 to 5 world . . . I finished my undergrad in 2009, and I've hated every minute of the "work" I've done over the past two years.

However, I LOVE academia . . . teaching, researching, reading, conferences, writing, even living in college towns . . . everything. After finishing my degree, I want to pursue a Ph.D. in public policy and enter academia, preferably as a teaching professor. However, I know that most people pursuing MPAs are doing so with a "work / career" focus.

Is it even possible to enter a decent poli. sci. or public policy Ph.D. program with an MPA, or will it hold me back because it is a "professional" degree? Will it hurt me in seeking a faculty job down the road?