Am I MBA material? Seeking advice about the degree

JackBauer24

Hoping someone can clarify some things for me here.

I'm trying to get a handle on just what exactly an MBA prepares an individual for. Originally, I thought that an MBA was basically just a general business masters degree. Yet, from the research I've done, it sounds like MBA colleges tailor programs to prepare students for specific higher positions within their original profession (or a related field) or field of study, rather than for individuals looking to break into completely different professions. Is this a fair assessment?

I have a Bachelors in Landscape Architecture with work experience. Yet I'm looking to possibly leave that profession behind and go in a completely different direction. Business, in general, interests me. Yet my background is more arts/technical oriented. I've had no experience in the daily workings of running a business from a financial or marketing standpoint.

If I wanted to get into say, finance, information systems or marketing, would the mba curriculum do me any good in obtaining positions within those fields upon graduation, or would my prior background be working against me?

It just seems as though the mba is not the place to start for someone with a non-business background. Am I right or wrong here?

• 2 weeks later...

From my research, the MBA is a master's in business admin that schools tailor to specific areas of business. You have to research to find the right school that offers the right specialty for your MBA. Some schools offer general MBAs and those are geared towards working professionals who are just looking for a title or certification to increase their potential for promotion. Business schools have fierce competition, especially for MBA programs, so you'll have to research which school your background can compete for in regards to admission.