Applying for programs for the first time: all advice welcomed

Childofcalamity

Hi Everyone,

I've been lurking on this forum for a couple of months now, following some interesting threads, and have decided that its time that I just dive in and introduce myself.

I graduated from Bard College in 2008 with a degree in literature. I never took an art class as an undergrad and only decided to pursue art seriously after graduating.

This will be my first year applying to grad programs.

I'd love to discuss my art, what type of art I'd like to study, what programs would suit me best etc, but I figure I'll save that topic for an upcoming post.

For right now, I'd like to ask;

What should I be doing right now?

Is there some sort of 'checklist' you'll create for yourself while applying?

I live in NYC and feel that there must be some really great resources I can take advantage to help me become better informed about schools/ narrow down the search.

Are there any grad program fairs/open houses I should be putting on my calender?

Thanks in advance.

It's forums like these that make me really love the internet.

Childofcalamity