GRE Prepration

aparnamisri

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this form and planning to give GRE in the month of December.Following are the things I want to know:

1. How to start preparing for the GRE

2. How to monitor my progress.

3. How much time should I give to each section everyday

4. Is there any good website I can use for the preparation

5. Is it necessary to remember entire 3600 words for the new GRE

I am using Barron's for the preparation. I am mainly worried about the wordlist.

Please suggest me.

Thanks and Regards

For the Revised GRE you do not need such a big wordlist, so hopefully that helps some. I personally think you can get by with the top 500 words and be fine but you must know these words in the context of sentence completion questions and when it comes to reading comprehension. As far as time on each section, this really does depend on how much time you have to spend on it, how well you need to do, and how much Math and English you need to catch up on. Since you said you are using Barron's be sure you are studying it for the New GRE and not the old one, and then you can also use the Powerprep software for a few more practice tests. Also, ETS does provide a pool of essay questions, so you can practice with some of those for the AW portion of the test.

Where can I find some good practices tests for free and paid... and good practice drills sets like kaplans?

Also, I hace 6 free practices test for the old GRE, I was wondering I they could be useful, at least for the math? what do you say?

Where can I find some good practices tests for free and paid... and good practice drills sets like kaplans?

Also, I hace 6 free practices test for the old GRE, I was wondering I they could be useful, at least for the math? what do you say?

For the math portion, yes old practice tests could work. This is only because the section hasn't changed much. If you aren't that strong in math I suggest checking out: and they have recommendations for prep on there.