Embarassingly Low GRE Score..Help!

butterfingers2010

I took the GRE twice and scored very low both times (450 verbal, 410 quant the second time). I am not sure why as I studied really intensively for about half a year beforehand. I am applying to Northwestern, UW Madison, and Marquette, all of which require the GRE. I am also applying to UW Milwaukee and UW Whitewater, which do not require the GRE (thank God).

so basically what I'm asking is..do I have ANY chance of getting into those schools that require the GRE? I graduated magna cum laude (3.89 gpa), had a really good internship, and have been working in the field full time for 2 years now. I plan on writing fantastic essays because writing is my strength. I have never failed so badly at anything as I did the GRE and I'm terrified it will stop me from getting into grad school. There are other schools I have researched that don't require the GRE but I am not interested in them (they're in small towns, too expensive, or just not good quality in my opinion).

That's too bad -- the GRE does seem out of line with your other qualifications. Did you try one of the commercial prep courses? Maybe your approach to studying was not effective.

I second emmm's advice. If your undergraduate record is a good indication of your test-taking abilities, you should be able to get at least 600 on each section. How did you study for those 6 months? What were your main weaknesses? The new verbal section is (for me and maybe you, too) much more intuitive. This may leave more time to study quant. If you are unable to diagnose your strengths/weaknesses or to improve on your own, maybe you need a course or tutor. Live online courses are available from the major companies (Princeton Review, Kaplan, etc.) and tend to be more affordable than traditional, brick-and-mortar courses.