My work

R. Mutt

Any one have knowledge of which MFA programs that dig the kind of work I am doing? I'm graduating from the University of Georgia this December and will be applying soon. Any help would be great, even about the work itself. Thanks, Mark

http://www.markstarling.com/

Edited by starling

Hi Mark,

Nice work. I particularly like your urn piece which I think is a fantastic idea and (from the photos) looks to be well executed. there also seems to be a touch of humor running through you work which is always nice when engaging with conceptual art.

I'm a figurative painter and doubt I can offer you great advice on what mfa's are more geared towards the theoretical/ conceptual end of art making, but I would say;

UCLA

Columbia

Yale

Bard

Hunter

SAIC

These are all very selective though, so it would be a good idea to have some fall back schools on your list.

home this helps.

I really like your work. It seems pretty ambitious for undergrad work, so you should definitely be getting in somewhere. You didn't say what discipline you want to be in--is it sculpture? Combined media?

I agree about UCLA. It's the best, and very selective, but worth a shot. I'd also recommend Virginia Commonwealth (the best for sculpture), UCSD, WUSTL, U. Washington. As usual, I'm not too keen on the NYC area schools, except SUNY Purchase. I'd recommend U-Conn also. Once again, I feel Yale and Columbia are way overrated, as is RISD. Indiana is also good in sculpture.

CCA, SVA, and Pratt are not good fallback schools because they're expensive, and in Pratt's case, not very good. Your fallbacks should be Georgia State (in-state tuition if necessary), Tennessee, Florida.