How to get research experience?

teachgirl22

I am hoping to gain admission into a highly selective Ed.D program within the next few years.

My background is...

3.6 gpa in undergrad- social science

4.0 gpa in masters- urban education

Teach For America alum

5 years successful teaching experience in low income schools

I have taken a practice GRE with very low scores- in the 400s... Yikes. So my plan is to apply the 2013-2014 year and spend this next year studying to raise my GRE score and also ideally gaining some research experience over the summer. However, how can I go about getting research experience? I can do it on a volunteer basis over the summer... Should I directly reach out to local professors doing research in areas aligned to my interests? When should I reach out to them? What should I write in my emails? Help help help!

Thanks in advance.

I am applying to sociology programs next year with basically the same plan as you- (re)take the GRE and get some research experience. Getting research experience is a bit tougher for we who are not currently in an undergrad program. On top of that, I am in the middle of nowhere. But I decided to email a professor at a nearby midsized university with an undergrad program in sociology fully expecting to not hear back. Basically I told him my situation and that I could help do pretty much any research for free. And I was right. I didn't hear anything back. But then a month later out of the blue he responded and said he had a couple of possibilities. Things have moved kind of slowly but I am currently helping with a couple of research projects doing basic lit review and data compilation stuff. He has been totally helpful for no apparent reason. I figured he would use his undergrad students for stuff like that. The research is close to my interests and I am hoping it will really bolster my applications.