dilemma about grad school

Atkum

I'm a working professional and have been doing it for about a year now. I work in a clinical laboratory of a hospital as a lab technologist. I'm planning to work for 2 more years and then go to grad school to get a PhD in biological sciences (most likely Immunology or Microbiology). In these two years I want to take some grad school courses, but I don't know what kind of program to go for. I was thinking of getting a MBA, but I can't decide the concentration. I was also thinking of MPH, but not sure about that either. I want t work as a research scientist and teach at college level in the future. I would like to get enrolled into a program, that makes my resume look good when I apply to grad school in the future. Does anyone have any idea, what kind of program would be suitable for me? I would hate to not take advantage of this as the hospital I work for will pay almost all my tuition.

So you just want to get a degree to take advantage of tuition reimbursement? In that case, won't a MS degree be more useful? Or have you already gotten your MS? Because you could use the MS-level courses toward your PhD later,provided you don't use those courses to gradaute. So that way, you will be saving some credits/money. MPH also sounds good! But not sure if MBA is for you. Or if you are keen on the MBA then a health domain specific MBA should be good.

I don't know that an MBA would be really beneficial unless you want a position involving management in the future. Based on your interest in micro/immuno, maybe an MPH with a concentration in toxicology or epidemiology? The school may or may not offer that (in my understanding, epi is common, toxicology less so). Don't take courses just because you can; take courses that you find interesting.

Well, the natural marriage of MBA and MPH is an MHA (Masters in Hospital Administration).