Hitting a Cold Streak Searching for Research Help

thedig13

Basically, I'm a sophomore looking to eventually go to graduate school and get a PhD in History.

My short-term goal right now is that I'm searching for a professor to basically supervise and mentor me in my attempts to get some primary research done, and give me some research experience.

I've already spent about 6 - 8 months doing research in the Ethnic Studies department, but, frankly, I've grown weary of it, and I feel that it's too impersonal and lacks direction. The professor struggles to actually mentor me through the process (he usually just tells me to do some research, and expects me to work incredible magic), and usually doesn't reply to inquiries with any semblance of promptness, and isn't very easy to track him down on campus. I am probably going to explain to him that I can't continue working with him by the end of the academic year.

I've met a few good professors. One professor of mine, specializing in African History, has been very helpful. Unfortunately, his time at my university has passed, and our only communication now is via e-mail, as he's working somewhere else now. I recently sent him an e-mail asking him if he'd like to supervise and/or collaborate on a project, and I haven't heard back from him since. Obviously, I don't want to press the issue by sending another, especially since he's taken much longer than this to get back to me in the past. Then again, I can't help but be a little discouraged.

Another professor of mine in the Anthropology department who looked promising is now on sabbatical, and hasn't gotten back to me yet. And, just yesterday, I found out that a pretty cool professor who seemed like a decent guy is holding a position as Lecturer, as opposed to an actual research position. I haven't gotten to know him that well, but it's upsetting to know that any work he does with me won't be sponsored in any way by the university.