New to Public Health. Help?

Hathaway

I very recently decided to apply to MPH programs after I realized that it would be a great route for HIV/STD prevention studies. Here are some facts about me:

B.A. Psychology

B.A. English

Overall GPA: 3.4

Major GPA (PSY): 3.5

Major GPA (ENG): 3.6

GRE Q: 630

GRE V: 630

Also, for the past ~2 years, I have done research in psychology and prevention. I did research in my last semester of undergrad, and I currently work full time as a Research Assistant at a firm that specializes in interventions (substance abuse prevention, teen pregnancy prevention, etc.). Also, simultaneously, I have worked as an RA for a faculty member at my alma mater. So...lots and lots of research experience.

My original plan was to apply to PhD programs in Psychology (which I still intend to do); but I would really like to get into an accredited MPH program- and I would almost prefer that over the Psychology programs I am looking at. But I am a total novice to this field and all of my colleagues/peers/mentors are involved in Psychology so I am hoping someone here can help me.

I have a few questions that I haven't seen a whole lot of answers to:

1) Are interviews a common theme in the admissions process for MPH programs?

2) Is it common practice to email faculty members and ask if they are accepting graduate students; or is a faculty mentor oftentimes chosen for you upon admission?

3) Can Psychology majors even apply to MPH programs?

4) I don't have poster presentations or publications from undergrad. How bad will this hurt me? I know it obviously helps to have these things; but will I get rejected for NOT having them?