Bad GPA (UG and Masters), decent GRE, three years work, odds of Phd in Social work and Economics at Michigan University

kphd

Hi!

I have a GPA of around 2-2.5. in both undergrad (commerce, business, accounting) and Masters (Economics). I have a decent GRE score of above 1400, quant - 720-800 and verbal 700-800. Final score will be available in mid-november. I have almost 3 years of work experience as an Researcher on Infrastructure (and good LORs from work). What are my odds of getting into phd in Social work and economics at U.Michigan Ann Arbor.

Are there any other similar programs from other reputed universities that I can apply to? I am aiming too high? what universities can I hope to get into?

I am also interested in pursuing a PhD in public policy. Once again, what are the universities that I can target? Any advice will be highly appreciated.

To be quite blunt, that low of a gpa especially in your masters will be quite hard to overcome.

There are usually minimum GPAs that schools as a whole require, often around a 3.0. There are people who get in with lower, but many of them have much better graduate GPAs.

That said, I'm not in social work so things might be a bit different there.

I would wonder if grading is significantly different in India than in the U.S. For instance, you would not have been admitted to a master's degree program here with a 2.3-2.5 and you would not have been allowed to graduate from a master's program with a 2.3 to 2.5 GPA. I also wonder if, being from India, you're familiar with U.S. schools. The University of Michigan at Ann Arbor is one of the very best schools for Social Work and for Economics. In fact, it's ranked 2nd (US News and World Report) in the United States for Social work.