About applying to a PhD

ezequiel

Hi, I'm still an undergrad (an international one) and I'm thinking about applying to a PhD programme in a canadian or european university. But I have a question, that may seem silly to some, but I'm new to this whole application process thing.

I see that a lot of people applied to maybe 15 schools, and what I always wondered was if they had communicated with 15 different potential advisors. When I see an application form, you have to complete it with the thesis topic, advisor, a brief explanation of the project, etc.

For all of those who have applied to more than 1 PhD programme, did you contact potential advisors beforehand in each case? Or can you leave that blank, only specify the research area you are interested in and worry about the specific project when you are admitted (and funded!!)?

I apologize if this is a stupid question, but nonetheless is an important one for me.

Thanks.

For all of those who have applied to more than 1 PhD programme, did you contact potential advisors beforehand in each case?

Yes. It's not absolutely essential, but ideally you want to contact a Professor before you apply. Many applicants do this, so you want to keep up. But even more important than that, Professors come and go from universities. A few I contacted were leaving the University they were at this year. If you write about a Professor that is leaving in your Statement, you look like you haven't done your homework and might get your app tossed.

Or can you leave that blank, only specify the research area you are interested in and worry about the specific project when you are admitted (and funded!!)?