Submitting apps ASAP -vs- Waiting for final MA grade

NoMoreABD

Hey all,

Here's the deal: I'm still waiting on my MA thesis grade to come in. It's the last grade in my MA degree, and supposed to come in in about two weeks. But then I'll need to order transcripts and send them to the US.

My current average is 93.5 (in a 100 scale). I expect to get over 95 on my thesis, which won't change the average much or at all, but will probably look impressive in itself.

The question is: does it worth the wait? Isn't submitting as early as possible more important?

Again, it won't affect my grade average, and I won't have my formal degree yet anyway.

However, if I wait, my transcripts will note that I finished my degree, and I'll have a very high grade on my thesis to put on my CV and back my apps.

On the other side, considering the technicalities of the app process, waiting means getting very close to some of my deadlines.

I'm considering waiting only with the programs whose deadlines are a bit further away.

Do you think programs that require only electronic copies would agree to accept updated transcripts after the deadline? Probably not...

Would love to hear your thoughts on this. Thanks!

I have a somewhat similar issue and the answer is that every school will do it differently. A lot of schools will use the end of December to put files together rather than starting to read right away (although that's definitely not true everywhere), so you might have some leeway (cf: LORs often have a few more weeks to arrive than the due date). What you'll probably want to do is email all the schools you are applying to and ask what they prefer. From experience, some will prefer something unofficial be uploaded, some will tell you to rush the final transcript to them, etc. Just depends on their policy.