Average MA GPA

asleepawake

Hi,

I'm wondering what you would all consider an average and a good GPA for a terminal MA applicant to a PhD application. I've been told not worry about my GPA at the grad level, and I know other things are obviously more important.

However, as an MA student I have intentionally taken courses with very difficult professors. If you've ever use myedu (warning: there's no unseeing), you know that you can look up grade distribution by course. I've taken most of my classes with professors who give out only a handful of As, while I know that other professors give out almost all As and require far less work. I imagine this is the same elsewhere. I think my GPA looks pretty good right now, but this semester I am taking all difficult classes, and I'm pretty sure that it will drop at least a bit. I understand that different professors grade differently, and that this is a part of the process, and I'm not trying to complain or suggest it is unfair. I will continue to choose professors who challenge me. I don't want a gold star for showing up! I just realize how inaccurate a GPA is for measuring how much I've learned and I guess I want assurance that adcoms know this too.

I'm not expecting to have a terrible GPA or anything, but I hate having to worry about it.

Thoughts?

Edited by asleepawake