What is the difference between RAs/TAs and fellowships?

AthenaQ

Hello all. I must admit that I am confused when it comes to the differences between sources of funding for PhD study. Please help?

I am a psychology student, and will be starting study in the fall of 2009. I am currently torn between two schools, one of which has already accepted me and the other has invited me up for an interview in February. Both of my potential advisors have gathered information from me about aspects of my academic career, the purpose of which I was told was that they intend to submit me for a fellowship. They also stated that these fellowships are granted on a competitive basis. Here's where I get confused. I know that financial aid award comes with a stipend for a TA or RA, but is the fellowship money awarded on top of the TA/RA stipend? Or is this fellowship they speak of the money that I will be given for work as a TA/RA, but maybe at a higher rate than other TA/RA stipends?

Thank you very much. I would ask this question of my potential advisors, but I don't want to seem too money grubbing this early in the process.

I'm in a similar situation and would like some insight. I've seen some descriptions of named fellowships, which look good, have great money and certain other benefits (professional development), but what if we also want to TA/RA...can we? Do we get paid more for doing that?

Fellowships are almost always in lieu of a TA. They can be for first year only, first and fifth year, or any combination there of including all four or five years of your program.

They are a great deal because you have no teaching obligations -- at all, for the length of your fellowship.

but what if we want to TA too? can we get extra $ for that?

No. You can't have your cake and eat it too. If you are nominated for a fellowship, then you should take it. If you turn it down, it's likely that you won't get funding at all because they will have given the TAs to other students.