Do I stand any chance for Sociology PhDs?

a piece of bread

Hi all,

Nowadays, I am somewhat puzzled since I could not decide on whether I must apply to American Universities or not. I thought getting help from you would be helpful. I can not make a clear decision because I have some deficiencies that weaken my application. Of course, I have some strong sides too. Ok! I explain my background and wait for any comments about my chance to get in.

First, I graduated from an Economics department of a well-known Turkish University. I put a disappointing performance since I do not like Economics' quantative side. My GPA was 2.92. However, I got very good grades from the elective and some required courses in Sociology, History and International Relations. To calculate the cumulative of these courses, we can find 3,5. If I decide to apply, most probably I will emphasize this to prove that I am not good in only Economics.

Second, I am a second year MA student in Cultural Studies department of a very good university in Turkey and I am writing a thesis regarding rising rate of racist movements in Turkey. That means I am studying on Racism and Ethnicity as well as Migration Studies in some social projects. My GPA is 3,87 until now. The thing I forgot to say is that I will be applying to schools next year. But I can say that I am really experienced in social projects. I attended a summer university of Minority Studies in Hungary and because I was president of Young Authors Club at my former University I arranged some seminars and panels which may help.

And what about my scores on TOEFL and GRE? Well, TOEFL: 107 and GRE: Quantitative, 800; Verbal, 650.

My plan: I have already applied to some Turkish Universities for PhD in Sociology. But, as I said, I am thinking of being not permanent here. I mean, I will just skip next year in Turkey for preparing applications to the US. Maybe, I can go to Hungary for one-year Nationalism Studies master in Cenral European University.