Thinking about apply to to GSEs - questions

sshopeful

I am currently a second-year teacher in the New York City public schools. I graduated college in May 2010 and immediately started a nontraditional program for teaching certification, enrolling in coursework at a local NYC school (unranked). I began teaching at a NYC public school September 2010.

I graduated from a top liberal arts college with a (rather weak) 3.4 GPA . I work and go to school, and I have a 3.8 Masters GPA. I am currently writing my master's thesis on lexical errors of bilingual students in special education settings (and the complicated duality of their identities).

I hope to apply to GSEs for fall 2013, but I don't know how competitive I would be (if at all). I have done research on higher education/achievement gap for a think tank organization (acknowledged in but not co-author of a book), an independent project (on racist policy against English language learners in Massachusetts) at the undergraduate level, was part of a research team studying parental involvement and college access for Latino students (for a year, funded under a NSF grant), and interned as an ESOL teacher in a foreign country.

I, ideally, would like to study the intersection of culture and education - particularly with bilingual populations, and even more specifically studying the overwhelming placement of Spanish L1 students /ESL and bilingual students into special education settings, looking specifically at the achievement gap between ESL and Non-ESL students. I don't know if there is anything out there that would cater to me, or if any program would realistically take me as a doctoral student given my poor background.

GRE not yet taken either... so that's another one. Any advice ?