Hi All,

I'm admittingly a noob on this forum, so if I ask questions that have been answered elsewhere please feel free to chew me out. (I looked...honest!)

So I'm probably at the minimum a year away from even applying to school, but I want to make sure I do my best to plan out how I'm exactly going to do this. I obviously want to get into the best program that I can, so I'm wondering what kinds of opportunities and experiences should I be seeking out right now, to make my application stronger. Specifically I don't really have any research experience, publications, or presentations, and I'm completely at a loss on figuring out how to seek out those credentials since I am no longer in school.

My background

I have a BS in Advertising from Illinois, and just finished my Masters in New Media from DePaul University. My undergrad GPA was pretty mediocre (for a number of reasons, missing nearly my whole senior semester for medical reasons being one of them), but I finished my Masters (usually a 2-year program) in one year with a near perfect GPA so I'm hoping that will compensate a bit for undergrad, even though Illinois is a considerably more competitive school than DePaul.

My Masters program unfortunately did not offer any opportunities for teaching or research and it was a non-thesis program. Perhaps not the best choice for school given my further career aspirations, but I have the degree and there's no point in looking back now. I'm hoping to get into a Mass-Comm program with an emphasis on new media/technology and society and I'm juggling a number of directions I would want to go with my dissertation topic, which I'm hoping to figure out as part of my preparation year(s) before I apply.

I currently work in communications for a university (unfortunately they are an old-school private university with no Journalism or Comm program, so there aren't many opportunities there).