a Library Science degree for less money at a less prestigious school?

Hey! I am a Brooklyn resident thinking about getting a Library Science degree. I've worked in various libraries for about 3 years now and while I think I eventually want to go back to school for a PhD, in the short term I'd like to continue working in libraries, and I'd have more opportunities with an ML(I)S (hopefully).

I don't want to go into debt for this, and I don't want to leave New York City. I had some good conversations with people at Queens College CUNY and St. John's University- both ALA accredited programs- and with my undergrad GPA and in-state status, I would be able to afford the degree, and continue to work while I went to school.

But these aren't exactly prestigious schools, and I'm wondering if that will make a difference? I've heard that job experience trumps where you got your MLS degree- and I have experience working for several major public institutions.

Any thoughts on either school or on my plan in general?

Thanks!!! B)

• 2 weeks later...

I have an MLIS from FSU, which is in-state and had an all-online program, so I basically did what you are thinking of doing. I would definitely agree that job experience trumps education. I didn't have any library experience before I graduated, and I spent a year looking for a library job after graduating, with no luck. I couldn't even get a job that didn't require the degree.

I don't know anything about those schools, but based on my experience, I'd say that your plan is a solid one.

• 2 weeks later...

I would say your plan is excellent. A prestigious school is a bonus no doubt, but not essential or worth the debt I'd say. Staying in NYC will be great for work experience! Everything I've read suggests school name is none too important in the field.