Current Grad Students- Post your story here!

UFGator

If there are any other current economics graduate students, please post your story and info!

My Background:

Bachelors: BA Economics

Formal Math Training: Very little

Informal Math Training: Over a period of about 6 months, I watched a lecture series each online: multivariable calc (MIT), Linear Algebra (MIT), Real Analysis (Harvey Mudd College has a decent series on this), diff EQ (MIT), and a solid probability primer by mathematical monk- (http://www.youtube.com/user/mathematicalmonk)

Current Grad School Status: Just started second semester.

Impressions so far: The "jump" from undergrad was as big, if not exceeding my expectations. My first semester I had Micro 1, Macro 1, and Math Econ. Macro 1 was pure was pure wizardry compared to my undergraduate economics. Micro wasn't too terrible, which I attribute to having been taught optimization in my undergrad upper div. micro course. I studied just about 5-6 hours a day 5-6 days a week and got a 3.78 for the semester.

I have comprehensive exams at the end of this semester! YIKES!

Anyone else out there?!

Bachelors: B.A. in Joint Math/Econ and B.S. in Psychology

Formal Math Training: Calculus 1/2/3, Linear Algebra, ODE, PDE, Real Analysis, Probability/Stochastic Theory, Topology

Informal Math Training: None?

Current Grad School Status: Second quarter in a behavioral marketing PhD program -- pretty smug about my decision not to go into Economics (which I had been planning on for most of my undergraduate career!). :P

• 2 weeks later...

Behavioral Marketing?! Sounds interesting, tell me more :).

I'm so jealous that you took Topology, the only Topology series I can find online is taught by a guy that tons of mathematicians are very skeptical about. I've been trying to slowly read through baby Rudin.