How to land a research assistant position?

irvinchiva10

Hello Psychology peeps!

I am a History student, but I am writing on behalf of my fiancee who is a psychology major with strong interests in cross-cultural psychology. Basically, I will be going to Harvard in the fall and she is moving to Boston with me. Since she was planning to take a year off anyway to focus on her application, this is not much of a problem. However, while she studies for her GREs, drafts her SOP, etc., she would like to work as a research assistant in the Boston/Cambridge area. She has been working as a research assistant here in NYC for the past 3 years in a social psychology lab and a sleep lab as well. My question in short is, how does she go about procuring similar positions once we move? Since we will be there starting in August, should she email professors at various universities, asking if they are interested in taking her on? Or does she limit herself to those positions that are posted online? What's the usual process? Are there interviews involved? Any help would be highly appreciated. She knows how to get positions within her own college, but she has no clue how to approach this particular process in the most effective way possible.

Again, any help would be highly valued!

I found one this summer just by emailing. I emailed multiple professors at a local university whose research interests were similar to mine, following this format: