Notifying Employer

So, here's the deal.

I got laid off in mid-December of this past year. The program I managed lost its funding due to government budget cuts and just couldn't recover. Thankfully, I landed a job at another social service agency in no time, and I've been working there for 2 months. While my last employer knew about my intentions to return to grad school (and was extremely supportive), my new employer is unawares.

My question is: How do I time this?

I have a good relationship with my supervisor, but I'm still uncertain about how she might handle my resignation if I break the news too soon or too late. The program is in a big transitional phase, and my position is a big part of pulling the program out of its funk. I plan to work until early-to-mid August (and then hopefully claim my vacation time as I prepare for the move :x), but want to give my agency enough of a head's up that we have time to prepare and find an appropriate replacement... and I don't burn any bridges. I don't think they would be in a hurry to find someone else if I broke the news "too soon," but never say never--we're a small team.

I was thinking May/June, when hypothetically my decision on where I'll be matriculating will be final and absolute, but any thoughts on that?

I was wondering the same thing. I have been working part time and my current supervisor was excited yesterday because unknown to me she had my postion approved for full time. I am feeling major guilt....I was waiting for my acceptance before I told her about wanting to get my MSW. Grr....I think I am going to have to tell her before. I just dont know when. :(