Boston College?

The results board lists acceptances from Boston College starting on February 11 last year. No one has posted results yet for this year. Is anyone else on pins and needles, waiting to hear from their English Department? Has anyone heard anything about their financial situation this year?

Hi guys,

I'm in pretty constant contact with the DGS at BC, as I'm a former MA student. I'm 99% sure they will be accepting the same amount of students in the PhD program this year as they have been the previous years. This isn't particularly encouraging news, as they generally only take about 4-5 PhD students each year (and sometimes one of those students has to fit into a specific area of study, per the funding guidelines), although they generally offer several (15 or so) MA spots to qualified candidates, some of which come with first-year funding. The MA (if it is funded for both years) is a really good way to get some face time with the professors in the BC program and is a great jumping off spot for the BC PhD program, as well as other really good programs. I know recent graduates have gone/have gotten into Boston University, WashU, Vanderbilt, Maryland, Brandeis and other great places.

As for the timing, I'm also 99% sure they are still making decisions. I know that they *try* to call even if you are waitlisted or rejected, so give the mailman a day off, if at all possible. The area code you'll be looking for is 617.

Helpful? Let me know if you have any questions about the MA program. Like I said, it's pretty awesome, but I really suggest the fully funded for two years route, unless you just love loans, are independently wealthy or are a glutton for punishment.