Huge life decision for me.

hvasilev

Hello,

I'm a software developer from Bulgaria, Europe ( i'm 24 years old and have 2 years of professional experience as a .NET developer ). I have a bachelor degree in "Informatics", which i'm given to understand, is the North American equivalence of a Ba Computer Science.

What i want: I want to get a prestigious CS Masters degree in Canada for the purpose of using the university's networking to find myself a job as a developer ( in Canada ), then maybe someday to become a project manager and then someday maybe have my own software company. I have absolutely no desire for Phd or research in general. All i want is the diploma. Now what can i do about that:

I have about 5.4/6 average from my studies, which is 90/100.

I have a 114/120 on TOEFL iBT.

I think i can score high results @ GRE General and GRE subject Math.

I have professional certifications, work experience as a .NET developer, work experience as a Network administrator ( + still valid CCNA certificate )

My brother is a Canadian citizen and he recommended the MMath program in University of Waterloo. What i'm worried about that is the extensive use of the word "research" in the faculty page. So i'm confused here - even if i was able to get accepted in that program, what are my options after that ? Is that program suitable for a guy with my interests ? Will i have better chances for finding myself a job with such a degree ? Can you recommend a better program ?

Best regards.

Disclaimer: I'm currently a grad student at student at UW.

If you want a Canadian CS job, I think you'll be hard pressed to find a better Canadian program than UW's MMath. UW has a very strong industry/coop bent to it, and a very strong industry reputation (especially in Canada). In particular, the coursework-based MMATH is extremely popular for industry people.

Basically, UW has three MMath options:

- Thesis: You do 4 courses + research thesis, and often go on to do a PhD afterwards.