Needing program advice; machine learning, computational neuroscience

Sane

Hey all. Hoping that I found the right place to post this. I was just looking for some smart people to get a few pieces of advice from, for planning out graduate studies. I finish my undergraduate at the University of Waterloo in a year's time. I'm currently planning to work my way to a PhD, but am unsure of where and what path I should take.

My background is in Computer Science and Combinatorics & Optimization. I find myself very interested in the field of machine learning, but feel it's important to also learn psychology and neuroscience. This is because of the many real life problems where the machine learning model involves a component of human interaction. I'll try to be specific: I have found the field of machine learning to be lacking in many of the problem spaces that are prevalent today, namely those where the underlying function that we are trying to learn is a product of the human mind (or even many human minds together). Here, it's important to take into account many behavioral factors in modelling the hypothesis space, and to keep it robust enough to allow for varieties of learning biases (there's no free lunch, etc, etc). Sadly, very little robustness is seen in most techniques, and the human component is generally viewed as more of a black box with algebraic or Bayesian learning biases.

I feel it's important to consider techniques that allow for more application specific modelling of the human component. I want to pursue a program that can allow me to explore some of these concepts in greater depth. I am unsure of what programs offer such a perspective. This is where computational neuroscience may come into play. But, I am not entirely sure, since I am only familiar with the machine learning side of things.