U Chicago MAPH - Equivalent to an MA in Art History?

mbb2112

I recently struck out on my first round of PhD applications. I was wait listed at one of my top choices, but everyone accepted, so no room for me this year. Currently my only option is the MAPH at U Chicago with a half tuition scholarship. Now, I know there's a lot of information already up here on the MAPH, but I need to hear it from the art historians out there - would this really be equivalent to a MA in art history? Would I really be in a better position than I am now applying for the PhD next time around?

To figure out whether this is worth it for me, I probably should give some more information: I'm applying in Chinese art history, I did my undergrad at Columbia, I graduated with a 4.0 major GPA and a 3.85 overall GPA, I wrote a thesis as an undergrad based on original research I did in China, I worked as a curatorial assistant in a major East Asian art museum, I speak proficient Chinese and French. I wasn't an art history major as an undergrad, I was EALC... maybe that makes it harder?

My pride balks at considering going into debt to pay, even half, for an MA. If I had been smarter or more strategic, I would have applied to a few funded MA programs this time around, but sadly I didn't. So, the U Chicago consolation MAPH (with a half scholarship though... I dunno) is probably worth considering. Also, my POI will be on leave for 2 of the 3 quarters next year, so that's worth weighing too.

Thank you so much to anyone who weighs in! I am incredibly lost, I have no idea what to do about this. Option 2 is stay put, and apply again for the PhD next year, this time including funded MA programs in the mix.