Research Conference- Legit or Money Making Scam?

Hey,

So, impressed with a paper I submitted, a prof of mine forwarded said paper and abstract to a research conference taking place at a University, which was subsequently accepted. I was excited about all this until I got an email from one of the conference's organizers imploring me to register for the conference and pay accompanying fees (what!!??)

Now I'm an undergrad with zero experience on this so naturally I had some questions;

Is paying a fee to present at a research conference normal? My natural reaction is to see this as some sort of money making thing preying on the naivety of approval seeking students. The institution is a legitimate Canadian University and the keynote speakers are, as far as I can tell, legitimate and published PHD's in the field. But still; I cant shake this deep, foreboding sense that I'm being "took".

Am I wrong to feel this way? Again, I have absolutely no (read zero) experience with this sort of thing.

Thanks.

A young woman in my honors seminar is attending an undergraduate research conference at UCLA and informed me that she not only submitted an application fee with her abstract, but also was required to submit $10 once she accepted their invitation to attend (http://www.psych.ucla.edu/undergraduate/purc/applying).

Now, I'm not sure how much they are asking you to pay, or if it's a conference specifically catering to undergraduate presentations as my classmate's conference is, but it does give me the impression that at least under some circumstances this is to be expected.

Perhaps your professor might have some (more definitive) thoughts as well?

Edited by POG0628