Program Director is fighting FOR me. "Retake GRE if you want in this Fall"

sevyn731

My goal is to get into a Master of Landscape Architecture [MLA] program and then pursue a Masters in Urban Design [MUD].

Most MUD programs require I hold a professional degree in Architecture, Landscape Arch, or Urban Planning in order to apply/enroll, UNC Charlotte is the exception to that trend.

Since I've been rejected by one school, and haven't heard back from any of the other MLA programs I've applied to, UNC Charlotte is looking pretty good as a plan B. It's only a year long, I'd be In-state, learning something I love, I'd have time to retake the GRE if I got in, and I'd get to go to China next summer. All positives if I end up re applying to MLA programs for Fall '13.

At the beginning of the fall '12 app season, I got an email from the program director stating how he was excited to see that I was applying and we have been corresponding via email ever since.I got an email from him today telling me that my GRE writing score is too low, and my math score could be a better. Because of this I will be put on the wait list unless I retake the test and submit a portfolio with more work samples in it(no problem on the second part).

He's willing to extend the deadline beyond May 1st and make a case for admission for me.

As awesome as this is, one does not simply retake the GRE. I'm afraid taking it within the next month won't give me enough time to study in order to get a good score. Not to mention after spending close to $1000 this app season, I honestly don't have $160 laying around to register.

Hate to sound like I'm complaining, but the situation seem to be a bit of a gamble given the short prep time I'd have for a retake. It also seems I haven't completely given up on the remaining schools I've applied to.

Any advice?

You're going to need to retake the GRE no matter what: