How to prepare for research in machine learning?

luffycullie

Hello everyone,

I am currently an undergraduate majoring in computer science. I have an option to take 3-4 statistics classes and need some advice regarding which ones would be the most helpful towards graduate research in the areas of machine learning / data-mining. Also if it helps, within ML I'm interested in exploring decision tree learning and neural networks. The list of statistics courses available are:

Concepts in Computing with Data

Concepts of Probability

Concepts of Statistics

Stochastic Processes

Linear Modelling: Theory and Applications I

Linear Modelling: Theory and Applications II

Sampling Surveys

Introduction to Time Series

Game Theory

If there are other courses outside of statistics (say in the math department) that you find very relevant, please suggest them too. Thank you!

Depends on your knowledge - for instance if you're comfortable with probability, you probably don't need to take Concepts of Prob. I'd take Stochastic Processes, the two linear modeling classes and sampling surveys. If I wasn't comfortable with basic prob/stats, then I'd take concepts in prob/stats and the two linear modeling classes.

Of course, if you can, you should try to take all the classes you've listed. As to math classes - definitely make sure you're very very good with linear algebra. Also if you've space, real analysis and measure theoretic probability. They won't be directly useful to pratical ML research but are helpful in giving you a conceptual framework and if you want to do some theory research in ML.

Edited by jjsakurai

jjsakurai, thank you for your reply.