Quantitative Psychology, anyone have advice to give?

brittgorrall

I am entering into my senior year of undergraduate studies. I am majoring in psychology, however my first two year I was a mechanical engineering major. I have taken a great deal of math courses, Calculus I-III and Differential Equations. I am planning to take more research methods and statistics class to help my chances. I started working on research project this summer regarding the use of state-space modeling and how it can be applied in psychological research. I am hoping to join another research project in the fall. I have not been on any publications. Does that hurt my chances at getting accepted into a PhD program? I am researching programs this summer and will be applying in the fall. I plan to take the GREs in October, so I am using the summer to study. I have a 3.5 major GPA, I had a rough year junior year them entered the Navy for 2 1/2 years and now am returning back to school. Can anyone give advice as to how to go about applying for programs, emailing professors, ways to better my chances, etc. Thank you so much to anyone that can help!!

Britt

Here's a good general guide:

http://www.psychology.uwaterloo.ca/gradprog/preparation/grad_school_in_psych.html

To answer your specific question, most undergraduates won't have any journal publications when they apply for graduate school. The most you can hope for is a conference presentation or two, and even that is not mandatory.

Make sure you get a high score on the math portion of the GRE. It's not difficult math, so Calc III won't help you - but don't underestimate it, so do some practice quizzes beforehand (even though math is your strong side).