What would you do?

greeneyes1

I'm a 2009 grad with a major in psychology, and minors in biology and writing

3.2 (kinda low...i know)

Did conduct my own research study during my jr and sr year with the aid of a psych dept advisor. Presented. Did not publish.

Have spent the last two years working as a case manager at a mental health center for adult with severe mental illness.

Just started as a research assistant in April. We are part a hospital, though we have our own building. We do studies mainly on weight loss. I am/will be working on 4 different studies. None of which I will be named on...as I am only a research assistant.

When I was interviewed they asked me to stay for at least two years, which initially I was fine with.

While I'm grateful for my new job it is also mind numbingly boring. I have spent my days thus far, quality checking packets for missed answers....bubbling for when we scan....and scanning. It's really basic. Especially when you've run your own study in the past.

Volunteer wise, I've just begun volunteering for the Red Cross, right now as a Disaster Responder, and will begin taking their trainings and being more involved.

I plan to go to grad school for epidemiology.

Here's my questions:

I'm am unsure of my chances of getting into a PhD program, which I would really like to do, and skip the MPH. I'm not sure if my work experience can help off balance my somewhat low GPA.

If I apply for the next round between Dec 2012-Feb 2013 for most schools I'm looking at, I would have only been doing the whole research assistant thing for a little over a half year when I apply. I'm guessing being there longer would look better. As would the recommendation I could get if I honored my "2 year" verbal contract. (I wouldn't ask for one if I applyed Dec2012-feb2013)

What would you do? Apply or wait?

• 1 month later...