Advice?

Hi,

I'm an international student looking at PhD programs in the US for 2013.

1. I'm currently pursuing my 5 year integrated MA in humanities and social sciences (I major in development studies and minor in economics). My university is the best in the country and well known world wide. However, it's mainly an engineering institution. The MA program is relatively new. I'm part of the 3rd batch. I have one of the highest GPAs in my class. (If you look at the pol sci courses, I have a near perfect GPA)

2. I have 2 good internships - one at the country's biggest think tank and the other at one of Asia's best schools for public policy.

3. Ideally, I'd submit my thesis as the writing sample but I won't be done with it till my final semester so I'm reworking a paper I wrote for an IR course.

4. I'd like to study IR (nuclear policy, foreign policy analysis, liberal institutionalism, strategic thought in Asia).

5. I don't want a program that is quant heavy cause I've only done a handful of math/stats courses.

The schools I'm looking at are:

Princeton, Stanford, Yale, Michigan - Ann Arbor, Wisconsin - Madison, Indiana - Bloomington, UPitt, Washington - Seattle, Johns Hopkins, Brown, Colorado - Boulder, UPenn, Cornell and Ohio State.

Are these schools a good mix? Are there any other schools I should look at? Also, what GRE scores would these schools like? (I'm taking the GRE in a month)

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Most faculties list the average GRE scores of previous years admitted classes on their websites, but they also tend to say that there isn't an exact GRE score they're looking for. It's just one more element they can use to differentiate applicants. I've also heard repeatedly that some programs use it as a cutoff - above a certain point and they consider you for admittance based on your other factors, below it and they don't.

So, check those schools websites and they should be able to tell you.