Publishing While in Grad School

Hello everyone,

I’m in my first year of a M.S. program. Currently, my advisor has only two M.S. students including myself.

I find his research topics fascinating. He’s brilliant and he’s a very pleasant person.

He publishes articles very often. I go out of my way hoping to see my name on one of his next publications but he doesn’t seem very enthusiastic about me. He makes me feel very insecure. I’m afraid he may decide one day that I’m incompetent and fire me the way he fired one of his students last year.

I’ll appreciate your comments.

I'm not sure what you mean by saying that you "go out of [your] way hoping to see [your] name on one of his next publications...", it does sound like you are "sucking up" to him and hoping he will think "oh so-and-so is a good student, I'll reward them by adding their name on my publications". This is not how you get your name on publications, and I think most academics would not appreciate this kind of behaviour, as they may feel like their student is using them to get publications.

Usually, on a publication, the people that are co-authors will have contributed to it in some meaningful way -- collected the data, built the instrument, did the analysis, wrote the paper, was the supervisor, and so on. If you want to be on papers, you will have to work on projects, and if that work gets published, then you should be included on the publication. But there would be no reason for your prof to include you on other publications that you aren't a part of (which is what it sounds like you are trying to do, from your post).