Question about GRE verbal/ Princeton Review

2013grad

I'm planning to take the GRE in August. I'm using the Princeton Review 8 week plan as a guide to prepare for it, which includes learning all the vocabulary words in the Cracking the GRE book (I think 400-500 words). I took a diagnostic test before I started studying at all and got 158V and 150Q. I'm not worried about math; I know I can increase that if I refresh my memory on some things. My concern is verbal. I'd like to increase my score to the mid 160s. Good news is that I got all my reading comprehension questions right on my diagnostic practice test, so it's really just vocabulary standing in my way.

My questions: is studying the Princeton Review vocab going to help? Has anyone else used the GRE prep book or taken their tests? How reliable are they? I have a friend who scored 164V with no vocabulary studying at all. He saw my GRE book and said he never saw those vocabulary words on the test.

Any advice? Additional tips or suggestions for the verbal sections are also appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

162 (my score) is 90th percentile, so mid-160s would be quite high! What field are you in? Does it need to be that high? It's great to aim high, but don't let it discourage you if you can't quite get to the mid-160s. Being really good at reading comprehension will help you a lot. I used the Princeton Review book as well but I didn't really study vocabulary much. Gaining a solid understanding of Latin roots and reviewing prefixes and suffixes will serve you better than memorizing a bunch of words. You can usually deduce the meaning of a word, or at least eliminate some answer choices, if you can identify and understand the root of each word.

Thanks for the input. I'm looking at public administration or education policy programs. It doesn't necessarily have to be that high (for instance, one school I'm looking at has an average 158V), but I would like for top tier schools to be an option, so I'm shooting high.