grad program has nothing to do with UG

One place in which I'm faltering a little is that I can't explicitly talk about how my Undergraduate studies pertain to what I want to pursue in grad school because they have nothing to do with one another. I studied English and French in college, and am applying to Higher Education Administration programs for a Masters. I have a lot to talk about on what got me to arrive at this conclusion (perhaps even too much!), but I can't draw a connection between my UG academics and that path. Does anyone have any advice on how to address this? Or how to finesse it? Thank you so much!

I am also applying to a different discipline for grad school than what I studied in undergrad. I say if you genuinely can't make a connection, don't try to force one. Though, sometimes it requires looking at things from another angle. Are there any skills you gained from your studies that will help you succeed in your prospective program? The subject matter doesn't have to be the same to be able to draw a connection. Surely the analytical and critical thinking skills gained in your studies has helped prepare you for the graduate program. Also, maybe very briefly address why you chose not to pursue your undergrad areas of study, without saying "I didn't like it" or "I didn't know what to do with my degree." Something along the lines of: "While pursuing a career in teaching English or French may have been the more obvious path, I found myself drawn to the administration side of education because ...." That way you are acknowledging that this is a departure from what your studies were.