Tips for a beginner

AmyAngell

Hello everyone! I am currently an undergrad at John Brown University studying history. I hope to study art history post-grad (though I'm not sure of a specific area yet -- I'm considering Classical Greek or Roman, Renaissance, or 20th century American; kind of all over the place, but those are just the areas that have sparked my interest the most over the years). I will be a junior in the fall and am just getting started with the process of looking at grad programs. My goal is to get into a program at Columbia, Yale, Harvard, NYU, etc., but I am slightly overwhelmed by the amount of information that I've come across, so I was hoping to get some basic tips for starting the process.

In addition to asking for some basic information, I have some specific questions:

What do I need to do as far as learning foreign languages? (I am currently studying French)

Some of the schools I'm looking at mention undergraduate research. Can anyone shed some light on how I can go about being a part of successful research as an undergrad (or if it is necessary)?

I appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks!