I want to go to graduate school (help/need advice)

avidman

I want to start off by saying this might be the wrong place in making this thread, so with that being said, don't stone me.

Hello everyone. So, this is my first time ever posting, and boy, do I need help. I want to go to graduate school and I want to get into a Ph.D program. Personally, I think I just need reassurance/some other synonymous word to would hopefully make me feel better.

For starters, I don't think I am ready, nor qualified to even get into graduate school, but I don't really know much about it. I am the first in my family to ever go to college, so I have a lot riding on my shoulders.

Here are my specs:

BS. Undergraduate - University of Connecticut

Major(s) - Psychology, Cognitive Science

GPA: Psych- 3.813, CogSci- 3.825, Overall- 3.553 <<all gpa subject to change.

GREs: Haven't taken, but I predict V:400-500, Q-630ish, and AW:4-5?

3 Semesters of Undergraduate Research

NSF Summer Internship in Compassion

As for my GPA, I didn't try my first year simply because I was homeless and had a pretty crappy life all around. I am a minority, and a dirt poor one at that. I am alive today because I made the right decisions and got lucky when it came to not dying.

Personally, I want to go into a Ph.D program in the neuroscience of morality/emotion/intuition/affective neuroscience.

The schools I am considering are the following:

Stanford

Harvard University

Yale

Columbia

Cornell

University of Chicago

UC-Boulder

Brown

UMass

Boston College

I know I am aiming high, but hey -- a boy gotta dream, right? Anyways, I really hope someone could give me the low-down and/or some advice and/or words of encouragement and/or a hug.

Work on improving your GRE -- your estimated scores don't seem very competitive. The rest of your record seems OK :)