Lower GPA with a high GRE??

caseymarie

I graduated from UC Berkeley last year with a degree in Psychology. I want to apply to masters of communications programs -- I am particularly interested in columbia, NYU but also northwestern, Purdue, etc.. some of the top schools. I had a 3.3 GPA due to personal problems it was difficult to concentrate but I transferred to berkeley with a 4.0 from community college. While I was at Berkeley I also did 3 internships and have some pretty good letters of rec. I took the GRE once but am studying to retake it. My score right now is pretty competitive but I want it to be better. Will the lower GPA hurt my chances?

As people will definitely tell you, it varies by program, your application etc. I will tell you I graduated with a ~3.3 but had a stellar writing and pretty good qual score and got into 2 out of 4 programs for museum studies, I also went in with internship and work experience. I would have had a much, much better chance getting into my dream program if I had a higher GPA.

**edit** I would post in your specific subject area if you want more detailed responses

Edited by GreenePony