English composition teaching suggestions

I'm starting my PhD program next month and will be teaching for the first time. I have the freedom to use any texts I want in my two composition classes, however I feel some apprehension about the possibility of choosing materials which suit my reading tastes but may not be useful or appealing to my students. Would anyone minding sharing what criteria you used for selecting texts for your courses? Were there any specific or types of texts which turned out to be problematic for your classes? Lastly, do you have any general advice for teaching a composition class?

I've been teaching composition for three years and rather enjoy it. I have lots of advice (but limited time at the moment). I'll just give a few tips:

1) Make sure they do a lot of in-class writing exercises. The class shouldn't be you lecturing to them about how to write, and then sending them off to do some assignment. Yes, they should have out-of-class assignments, but lots in class too.

2) Alternate pretty frequently between you talking and them doing. e.g. have them work in groups to discuss a reading, have them practice a thesis statement, have them brainstorm ideas for a paper, have them start an introduction. And have them share what they wrote with the class. They stay awake more when there are tasks to do...

3) If you have a class that is quiet and not opening up to discussion, have them "free write" their thoughts on the reading, or topic, first. Students aren't able to just come up with ideas at the moment you ask a question. They need time to think, and having them write for five minutes about the question you've posed gives them the time to think.