A Bold step....tips for beginners??

tmishra

Hello Everybody,

Let me give a background check on myself. I have a bachelor's degree in Information Technology and a Master's Degree in Computer Science. I am now doing a Master's in Art History (Shocking, huh!). Reasons? I have been an Artist on the side for 10 years now and have a passion towards Arts and Arts History. I couldn't get a education in this area before due to parental and social pressure (Sounds Stupid). But Now finally I have a chance to get a education in this area. I have faced lots of negative criticisms and discouragement. So i do not want to hear that here. All I know is I am happy in my life now and to prove a point that someone like me can follow their passions I have to do good and I know I will. I am ready for any kind of Hard work and dedication. Since, I do not have a background it is going to hard for me. That is why I am considering getting a Ph.D as well after my masters. I am inclined more towards European Art, Roman and Greek movements. Any tips for some one like me to take care of? I am trying to get involved in research work in my department is that I can get as much as exposure as I can.

I want to get a Ph.D in a university that provides good funding. Any universities I should start looking at? What is the process to apply for a Ph.D? Do i have to give the GRE again? I know these are really naive questions, but that's why I am here.

Thank you all! :)