Advice RE: Not-so-great undergrad program

stardust

Hi all. New here.

So, I am a non-trad student at a small, private liberal arts college. I am currently a chemistry-health sciences major heading into what will technically be my junior year (despite actually having some 130 undergraduate college credits).

I love chemistry, but our department is tiny. The only chemistry classes I'll be able to take are:

2 semesters gen chem

2 semesters org chem

1 sem analytical chem

1 sem inorganic chem

1 sem biochem

Plus of course I'll take calculus and physics, required by major. And molecular modeling.

No P-chem offered.

Essentially, I am also taking enough biology classes (back-up plan?) that theoretically I could major in biology instead, though I'm less interested in pursuing it in grad school, I think. School won't allow a double major, so it'll be considered a minor. So, I've taken intro bio, physiology, and genetics already and will have several more to come (micro, advanced micro, ecology, evo/devo, molecular techniques, etc).

My current school GPA is a 3.96 (science GPA = 4.0), though I've only been taking 12-13 credits per semester as I have two kids. Anticipating grad school apps, I'm taking 17 credits next semester, and will beef up spring as well. I transferred in a 3.6 GPA.

I've won the only two science department awards offered. Though while that may possibly sound impressive, it's not like I was up against 300 other students. I was also elected chapter president of Tri-Beta for next year.

I'm blessed I guess that being in such a small school I have good relationships with my profs. They run our labs and can testify to my work. The downside? A weak chem program and NO ACTUAL RESEARCH. Well, not on paper anyway, where it counts - I know in both ecology and advanced micro I'll do some minor, 'independent' research, though it's extremely unlikely to get published... it's just practice.