PhD or MA?

mirop

I'm quite positive that many have asked this same question before, so excuse me if you've answered this one before. I'm a nontraditional student (in my thirties) who has just graduated from a public school in NYC with a BA in Art History. My GPA was just below a 4.0 in my major and just below a 3.8 altogether. I have professors who will write me very good recommendation letters, I've worked for the art department, and I know exactly what I want my focus to be in grad school (I wrote more than one paper related to my focus in undergrad). I know that I want to pursue a Phd, but I'm worried that I will be overlooked because my undergrad was at a public school. My advisor has told me to apply everywhere and see what happens, but I'm thinking I might be better off only applying for MA programs to save myself a bruised ego and extra application fees, and then I can apply for Phd programs after I finish an MA. Any thoughts or advice?