Applying when you've been working for a while

The_Hanged_Man

I'm considering applying to PhD programs in Educational Measurement, but I earned my last degree around 10 years ago and I am worried about references. My goal after earning my doctorate is to work in the private testing industry (ETS, College Board, etc), and I have little interest in research and academia.

I feel the rest of my application is strong. My undergrad (Stats/Econ) and master's program (MPA) GPAs were over 3.9, and I have strong work experiences related to education as a former Peace Corps and Teach for America corps member. However, the only reference writers I have available are the principals of the last few schools I have worked at. Will this be a significant barrier in the application process? Also, I currently have general letters of reference from my referees. Would copies of these be acceptable at any grad schools with their current contact info? My guess is no, but since I have been working for international schools my referees are scattered across the globe so it would be a huge hassle to get them to write another letter and coordinate getting them back to the schools I am applying to.

Any feedback would be much appreciated!

I think the educational field may look more kindly on industry references, but I do believe it would help to at least have one academic reference. Is there a course you could take or research you could do before you apply? I ask because I'm guessing this is for next year...

and yes, you will need letter-writers to write letters for each program (many of them ask for online submission and have specific questions about your aptitude included).

Also, all the programs I've looked at really want people who have academic aspirations, so I'm not sure how your goal statement might hinder you...